First Jupiter of 2017

April 6th, 2017, 10:30 p.m. local time

My telescope session tonight was a bit impromptu all around.  After a week of rain and more rain, a partly cloudy sky offered a great chance to get one of my telescopes out.  As the big 10″ Dobsonian had been idle for too many weeks, I lugged it outside, first to look at the Moon and then to see Jupiter.

I also have a new DSLR camera that I wanted to try.  I am still learning how to operate it, but I felt this was as good a time as any to try out prime focus astrophotography.

So I connect my newly-acquired T-ring to my new Canon EOS, then attached the T-ring to another adapter and then that to my Barlow.  After post-processing about a half dozen images, the above is my best result.

I know I can do better, but I am glad I made this first attempt.  Once I learn how to use the camera for real, I am sure the results will improve.

6 thoughts on “First Jupiter of 2017

  1. Nothing wrong with your results. I had a look at Jupiter around 9:30. I could see 3 of the Galilean moons easily and wondered about the 4th. After adjusting focus etc. I discovered it very close to the limb of Jupiter. I wasn’t set up to photograph it. But it was a fun find.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Pingback: Moon through a DSLR Camera | Aperture Astronomy

  3. Pingback: Jupiter in Prime Focus, Testing My New x5 Barlow | Aperture Astronomy

Leave a Reply

