Moon through a DSLR Camera

ISO 200, f/5.6, 1/640 exposure, 55mm. Very minor post-processing in Adobe Photoshop Elements.

April 8th, 2017, 1:45 a.m. local time

After waiting hours for the clouds to clear on Jupiter opposition day, I finally had a chance to try photographing the big planet again with my new Canon EOS.  Unlike last night, the results were meager; I will probably mention them in a future post.  But also at this time, very early in the morning, the Waxing Moon was still out and high.  So I put a lens on the camera and took some pictures.

This is all still a learning experience for me.  What’s nice, I discovered, is that the camera stores metadata on the image, such things as ISO, exposure, etc.  This is good because now I don’t have to manually log my settings after each picture taken.

My hope is to use this DSLR camera for two purposes – planetary imaging with my telescopes, and wide-field sky views on a tripod.  I have yet to try the latter.  But as the above shows, it is also easy enough to take a quick shot of the Moon at 2 a.m.

8 thoughts on “Moon through a DSLR Camera

  1. Nice, I’ve been doing a lot of experimenting of late, too. Trying to catch comets. I found that even in a fairly wide field I get unacceptable motion blur with a ten second exposure, experimenting to see how much I can shorten that up and still get the light I need with stacking – curious to see what you figure out!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks, that makes me feel like its a worthwhile endeavor. =) I actually found both Pan-STARRS and Lovejoy the other morning – but pictures aren’t all that convincing. It was hazy enough, and bright enough between the moon going down and sun coming up, that it took me a long time to even positively ID where I should be looking. Now I know better, but I need a good clear morning. It looked like Pan-STARRS MIGHT have a decent tail…

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, and I appreciate the compliment. I doubt though that there will be any such said Moon-Jupiter thingy tonight here, as the skies are rotten with storms. But I will hold out a little hope, as this would be a marvelous night for a tripod attempt.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

