Late Afternoon Moon

May 5th, 2017, 5:00 p.m. local time

We usually never see a late afternoon Moon.  Likely, we are ending our work days then and more concerned with getting home or elsewhere.  And even when we may be inclined to look up, it will either be too cloudy or too bright from the Sun’s glare to scan the sky.

I noticed the Waxing Gibbous Moon on this unusually clear and blue day.  The angle of the Moon is one we rarely see, with the terminator line pointing down to the East.

This picture was taken with my Canon EOS Rebel SL1, 300mm, 1/1600 exposure, f/14.

6 thoughts on “Late Afternoon Moon

    • I wanted to get a nice evening closeup just like yours. I had my telescope out, polarizing filter set, focused to the Moon, smartphone adapter connected and ready to snap pictures. There was a large band of clouds covering the East, with my West clear. So I thought, no big deal, right? Just wait a few minutes and the clouds will move past. But these clouds were moving North to South! Cloud cover just got worse and two hours later it was raining. I packed up after 45 minutes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

